The proof is in the Lemon Pudding – Recipe!

Gelatin Dessert

I have a sweet tooth… In all honesty… everyone who knows me, knows I have a major sweet tooth! So what does a girl do when almost all sugars are off limits?! *HELP*

  1. Deal with it – eat more fats and salty snacks
  2. FIND the exception to the no-sweets-allowed-rule :D

I do a little bit of both ;) however I NEEDDDD my sweet fix!

My most guiltless (Candida guiltless is what I refer to with this) dessert has to be my Homemade sugar free lemon Jelly!

I think it’s about time I share this yummy treat with you! It’s great as a snack or dessert but you could even have it for breakfast if you’d want – SO clean and healthy :D

The ingredients you’ll need are:

  • 20 grams gelatin; soaked in cold water >> ready to go
  • 1 cup fresh lemon juice
  • the juice from 1 lime
  • the flesh from 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1 tsp orange zest (optional)
  • 3 cups water
  • sweeteners to taste; I used 1/2 cup xylitol and 2 tsp stevia extract. TASTE the liquid after all is combined! If the liquid doesn’t taste to your liking, the jelly won’t be any good either :)

Start by heating 1,5 cups of water in a saucepan and once that comes to a simmer add the gelatin — slowly one piece at a time and whisk to combine. Once the gelatin and water is combined, take from the heat and add the lemon/lime juice and the extra 1,5 cups of cold water. Stir well. Add the sweeteners. Stir again. Add the zest & lemon flesh and… You’ve guessed it… Stir again ;-) Pour into individual ramekins or one big glass bowl. Let it set in your fridge for approximately 3 hours.

I love to serve some fresh whipping cream with this, coconut milk and/or full fat Greek yogurt. The richness and creaminess goes perfectly with the sweet and tart lemony jelly!

  • I bet you could make this with agar agar for a vegan version!
  • Add different kinds of fruit juice and/or chunks of fruit for different flavor combo’s! For Candida Overgrowth reasons… I’d be careful with sweet fruits though. Pineapple and/or coconut water (that combination is THE BOMB BTW!!!) gives a great jelly too!

Enj♥y!

When life gives you lemons, you make lemonade.. OR sugar free lemon jelly! YUM

7 thoughts on “The proof is in the Lemon Pudding – Recipe!

  1. Pingback: WIAW – I like big Pumpkins and I cannot lie – Recipes included | EAT and get MOVING

    • It doesn’t really matter which brand you buy as long as it’s organic, preferably, because the organic gelatin will have much more nutrition value. Also make sure the only ingredient is “gelatin” and don’t buy a sweetened or flavored gelatin or jelly like substance. Hope this helps and have fun experimenting!

  2. Hi there,

    Can honey be used?

    And can lemon zest be omitted?

    If agar agar is used instead – does it still follow the same measurements and instructions as the gelatin?

    Thanks

    • Hi Alice, you can use honey, but it might not get as stiff. Same goes for using agar agar. I haven’t tried that myself but I believe you would need a little more agar agar to bind the mixture and let it stiffen up. The lemon zest can be omitted! As far as the agar agar goes, I’d suggest to try a small batch to see how it goes. Trial and error is usually your best bet with recipes like this :-) Have fun!

  3. Hi dear, I love this recipe! I want to make it so badly! First, I have to get gelatine though. This will be a perfect fresh summer treat!! I already can imagine the citrus-y freshness…mmmh yumm!

    • Thank you Ann! It’s really refreshing indeed. Play around with the flavors and sweeteners used, you can totally make different flavor combinations to make this fit for you. Hope you’ll be able to find organic gelatin. Let me know how you liked it! X

Leave a Reply

