Yoga Challenge – Bellydancing – Salsa

Another yoga challenge… I hoped Courtney’s October Challenge would get me inspired to practice yoga more often. I want to practice yoga at home 3 times a week for 20-30 minutes and practice some meditation before bed. 

Alas, I did not manage to do any yoga last week! I’m just so caught up in work & life that I’m not making time to do yoga. Whenever I’m off I just sit behind my desk browsing online and – practically – wasting my time (not really because usually I do browse health related topics I can use for work) OR I’m studying for my degree in sports nutrition (which is a good thing!) 

Next week will be a whole different story as well, I’ll be attending the Dutch Salsa Festival  so I will be spending less time in the gym and less time at home (on the yoga mat ;))

I try to go to the gym 3 times a week and I do a 4th day of working out at home (usually abs and shoulders). This week I’ll go to the gym once or twice and I’ll leave it at that. I will focus on dancing my ass off all weekend long :D

One important aspect of yoga – at least to me – is to enjoy yourself and feel comfortable with who you are both mentally and physically. Be present in the moment en relax. This is how I feel while dancing. Dancing is my meditation, it’s my biggest passion and I both love and hate it beyond words (due to me developing anorexia at Dance College).

A route down memory lane – Bellydancing – my ultimate love in dance!

Me @ a show in 2008

At the same show – it was my first show after getting home from the hospital – I felt AMAZING on stage!

I even did a solo performance – it felt great being back on stage!

I’ve performed at many parties – this was during a birthday party – October 2009

Another shot :)

I’m not as flexible anymore… I wanna work on that ;)

My bellydance stage name was/is Litha – that’s why all these pictures are called Litha ;) – July 2009

Me in Wichita, KS, during my internship at The Castle Inn Riverside. I loved my stay there! I LOVE Wichita and all my friends there :D This was taken a few days before going home – I had to do a bellydance shoot outside in nature ;)

Personally – I love this shot – thanks to my dear friend Dani :D

Practicing my routine before heading over to a performance at someones birthday party :) – 2009

Workshop bellydancing for kids – I love teaching children! I’m gonna give a 6-week course in November-December this year too! I can’t wait! – November 2009

Dance like no one is watching. Sing like no one is listening. Love like you’ve never been hurt and live like it’s heaven on Earth.” – Mark Twain

This is the best advice anyone can give you! If I would have been able do have danced like no one was watching in Dance College, maybe I would not have gotten so insecure… Never doubt yourself or judge yourself! Other people will do that for you, and that’s confronting enough! Be yourself! Be passionate and don’t let anyone (nor yourself) kill your passion!

♥ Do what you love, love what you do ♥

8 responses to “Yoga Challenge – Bellydancing – Salsa

  1. wonderful photography! love especially the pic with u and the girls at bellydancinG! looks like dancing is so YOU!

    • Thanks Alexia! I think you’re right… dancing is me and I’ve been pushing these feelings away for a while now, but I’m so excited to go dancing this weekend and start that workshop in November, it’s showing me my love for dancing is far from gone!

  2. Thats so neat that you belly dance!

  3. What great photos. I love to dance like no one s watching, even though I have no skill at all. I’ve always been fascinated with belly dancing. What a really cool dance to know. Great pictures too.

  4. Such amazing photos. I think that’s so neat that your big into salsa dancing. I tried it once, and haha my goodness I’m sure it’d be a funny sight to watch. :)

Leave a Reply

