What’s fall without Pumpkin Pie?!

Hey there! :)

I uploaded the recipe for my (I think) delicious & healthy Pumpkin Pie on my company’s facebook page @ EATandgetFIT  – you’re very welcome to check it out! If you want to show your support by giving my page a like, I’d really appreciate it! :D

Anyway… I thought I’d give you – fellow bloggers & foodies – the recipe as well.

It’s kind of a bribe to get you – fellow October-yoga-challenge-takers – to forget about my epic fail on the yoga challenge this first week. I didn’t do ANY yoga.. I just haven’t taken the time :( Next week I’m gonna try to do better and at least meditate 3x that week and practice yoga once. If I’m able to accomplish that, I’ll be happy! :)

 

In the mean time, please accept a slice of Pumpkin Pie as my apology ;-)

This pie recipe is low in simple sugars, high in good quality carbohydrates (long lasting energy), high in fiber and in essential fatty acids, yet zero trans-fats!

OH, and a single slice gives you all the vitamin A you’ll need for the day! Great deal right?!

Let’s begin…

I used a very sweet – green – pumpkin I got from a friend. Note; this does turn your pumpkin pie filling GREEN ;-)

To make the crust you will need a food-processor; add the following ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour or if you want the pie to be gluten free; I love to use quinoa flour for this recipe. Another great alternative is buckwheat or oat flour.
  • 1/3 cup toasted walnuts
  • 5 tbsp rolled oats
  • 3 tbsp raisins
  • 3 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tbsp softened coconut oil or butter
  • 1.5 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • Pinch sea salt

Toast the walnuts at a low temperature (150 - 200 °F) for 45 minutes

Add all the ingredients for the crust into your food processor

After processing, this is the consistency you’re looking for

Bake the pie crust and the crumble (see a few sentences below where I talk about the toppings) or make the crumble in a later stage

Crust = done!

Mix until combined. Press the dough (the consistency will resemble a granola bar type of dough) into a 10 inch pie dish. Keep one handful apart for later usage!

If you want to keep the crust from getting soggy, brush one egg-white on top of the crust before baking.

Bake your crust in a preheated oven at 375°F for 10 minutes and set aside to cool while you make the filling.

Mix together the following ingredients:

  • 10 oz pumpkin puree (not the pumpkin pie filling, just pure pumpkin! Or make it from scratch)
  • 2/3 cup full fat coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (or your sweetener of choice)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp kuzu or arrowroot powder (or your starch of choice)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cardamom or coriander
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch sea salt

My lovely greenish filling ;-) If you use canned pumpkin or an orange pumpkin to make your puree – this will look lovely & orange!

Yum, yum, yum.. I can almost taste it! Nearly done!

The crumble for topping

Mix well and add on top of the pie crust. Bake at 350°F for 50 minutes. Check your pie after 40 minutes. The pie should still be somewhat moist on the inside.

In the meanwhile you can make the crumble for topping. Use the leftover dough from making the crust. Crumble the dough between your fingers onto a baking sheet and bake in 5-10 minutes golden brown.

Once all is done baking, take the pie out of the pie-dish and drizzle some maple syrup on top of the pie. Top with the crumble, a few raisins and chopped walnuts to taste. Serve with a dollop of unsweetened cream / whipped cream.

Happy Fall! 

Final product – Bon appetit!

8 responses to “What’s fall without Pumpkin Pie?!

  1. I have to admit that I’ve never liked pumpkin pie… however this one looks like one to try! I love that you used toasted walnut in the crust. Yum!

    • I’m glad you like this recipe :D I bet (hope) you’ll like it, it’s not like your average pumpkin pie… I love toasted walnuts in a pie crust, it seriously takes this pie to a next level, haha! ~Love~

  2. I will be happy to accept the pie in place of the yoga challenge :) There’s always next week!

  3. Pingback: WIAW – pumpkin pie taste testing day! I’m not complaining! | EAT and get MOVING

  4. wonderful recipe! and so healthy! i will have to give this a try asap!

    • Hey Alexia! It’s so nice to read a comment from you, I was just thinking of you a couple of days ago. Hope you’re doing well (from what I can tell I believe you are.. :)) Enjoy the pumpkin pie! Happy fall season!

  5. I actually like eating whole grain pasta then I do white pasta. If you cook whole grain pasta a little longer then it says to (like 15 minutes longer) then it gets as soft as white pasta and is very delicious. I am not talking about wheat pasta because it is nasty imo. It takes so long to cook and is tough. But if you make sure to get a premium brand that says whole grain on the front you are getting a healthy type of pasta that is maybe 50 cents more a box. Thats nothing to throw in to get something more healthier. So if you like white pasta, try the whole grain pasta out. I personally like the sea shell pasta myself. Its just as soft as white pasta and tastes great. I use to only eat white pasta myself up until a few years ago. I was very stubborn and said I would never get anything else. If I can make the change anyone can. Taste is whats most important to me sometimes too. I have made the same decision about brown rice

Leave a Reply

