WIAW – Summer foods to keep you in shape?! My summer staple = yogurt and zucchini!

It’s time to show you my food journal for what i ate wednesday. hope to give you some ideas :)

Talking about summer staples… I’ve written an article for the Indie Chicks website about what summer foods will keep you in shape during (and after) summer — so go check that out if you’re interested @ The Indie Chicks   :D

I’ve been eating an Anti Candida Diet for a while now (on and off). Lately I’ve been finding it harder to keep to my diet. I love fruit so I’ve been adding fruit to my yogurt this week and I also ate a few pieces of Gluten free (high carb) bread.

Last Sunday I cheated my diet by drinking a large glass of fresh OJ. And let me tell you… I felt horrible after! It’s far worse than eating a piece of fruit – which makes me bloated, but that’s it. I of course knew the fructose in the OJ (and lack of fiber) would mess with my condition, but now I’ve felt the consequences and I’m sure to never to this again EVER!  Note to self: Never drink fruit juice when battling with Candida overgrowth + Insulin Resistance!

As for the food… this is what I’ve been eating today :)

Breakfast = Yogurt with banana, berries and lots of sunflower seeds = I could just eat this all day long and be a very happy lady :)

All mixed up.. So delicious and extremely good for you! Full of fiber, probiotics (Greek yogurt) vitamins, minerals, anti-oxidants, essential fatty-acids and amino-acids!

 

 

 

 

Talking about summer foods – zucchini is one of my all time favorites! Very hydrating and it makes a great combination with almost everything!
Here, I made a bowl of cooling soup made with onion, zucchini, daikon, basil, avocado, salt and pepper. Easy to make, delicious to eat.

Click on the picture to get the recipe
I’ve made this bread before. It was a lovely compliment to the soup!

Fresh salad with lot’s of veggies, herbs, flowers and organic beef. You can’t really tell there’s beef in there on this picture… but really; there is.
My stomach was very pleased with me eating beef again (after not having had beef for a while). I wish I could live vegetarian, but at the moment it’s just not realistic, so eating organic beef every now and then is a good compromise.

Later I also made some zucchini pasta because I had more zucchini left over from making soup (usually it’s the other way around – people make soup from leftover veggies – but this time soup came before the noodles ;))
I roasted the pine nuts and added them on top later.
This huge bowl served two people!

That’s all for today!

In the near future I’d like to talk to you more about Insulin Resistance and Candida Overgrowth because I think a lot of people struggle with this but aren’t sure how to deal with it. That was me for the longest time as well. I’m still not following a “perfect” diet for these conditions, but at least I know what I can do to keep myself as healthy as possible. Sometimes I just choose to be bloated and I will eat carbs. That’s fine with me, as long as I understand where my symptoms are coming from.

So if you have any questions please let me know!

Before you go, I want to share this picture with you! I think the food looks so pretty!
I went out to dinner with a friend and I got this fish-dish as my main course. Smoked salmon, tuna tartar, Scallops and Lobster. Best thing I’ve had in weeks!

12 responses to “WIAW – Summer foods to keep you in shape?! My summer staple = yogurt and zucchini!

  1. I am with you, I could eat zucchini everyday. My favorite vegetable by far.

  2. livepassionatelytonight

    The yogurt bowl and soup look amazing!

  3. Pingback: What I ate Wednesday « Eating at my Desk

  4. just wondering how much sunflower seeds and yoghurt you use in the first couple of images :-)? Looks yummy!

  5. All your eats look so good. I too love zucchini and yoghurt and agree that they are perfect for hot summer days. I’ll have to try adding sunflower seeds to my breakfast bowl. I’m sure it tastes delicious and gives an extra amount of crunch. happy wiaw.

  6. Pingback: WIAW: Summer Weekend Eats « Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Foodiness

  7. Pingback: life & leibster kudos | Laura Loves Life

  8. Love zucchini!! Everything looks and sounds delicious girl :)

Leave a Reply

