How to overcome Candida & a recipe for Chocolates – Anti Candida Diet PROOF!

I’m gonna give you (and me for that matter – I can use a little reminder sometimes ;) – it’s easy to slack off) a simple list of Dos and Don’ts when having a Candida overgrowth. Note: I’m not a medical doctor – this is not medical advice! 

I’m currently on and off following an Anti Candida Diet (ACD). On an Anti Candida Diet the most important thing is to NOT eat any (simple) carbohydrates; no sugar, starches, refinded flours. So that means NO FRUIT either :( I’m a fruit addict so it’s a tough habit to break. Sometimes I’m able to eat fruit on an empty stomach. However some days I feel worse than others and on those days I get sick from even one piece of fruit! It’s all one big experiment. You’re the only person who knows how you feel and react to certain foods – never forget to listen to your own body!

To cut to the chase… What do I do in order to cope with a Candida overgrowth?

Do:

  1. Drink green juice everyday!  Green juice helps to create a much healthier alkaline internal balance, one that does not allow the yeast the flourish. Fresh green juice can be a powerful healing tool! Preferably on an empty stomach in the morning. I’m not doing this myself (yet) because I don’t have a juicer and I’m lazy ;). However I do know the benefits can be awesome! So try it out if you want to!
  2. I personally take supplements such as: Oregano Oil, Candida Clear (NOW), Caprylic acid, Guduchi  & Pau d’arco. I take a multi vitamin/mineral complex to boost my immune system. I don’t use all these products at the same time. I’m experimenting with different types to see what works best for me. Candida Clear and Guduchi seem to help me the best at the moment, but my mother for instance loves what Caprylic acid does during her on and off battles with Candida overgrowth.
  3. I love Probiotics! Just google probiotics ;) if you haven’t yet heard of the benefits.
  4. I love to add Magnesium Citrate to my cultured (Greek) yogurt. Candida die off can cause constipation and this helps to keep things moving ;)
  5. I really need to start soaking my raw nuts & seeds in lemon or lime juice! That will help with digestion and get rid of any small mold particles. You don’t want any mold particles in your food if you have a Candida problem.
  6. Eat organic unprocessed meat, lot’s of veggies & wild caught fish. I’m an on and off vegetarian, but since I’m allergic to lentils, soy, some nuts, all beans and legumes… and now I can’t have grains and fruit either?! I compensate the lack of variety by eating organic meat and wild caught fish more often. At least for the time being. Also, I eat a lot more organic eggs. Almost every morning for breakfast :) I’m actually starting to love a hardy breakfast!
  7. Eat lots of freshly minced garlic, onions & extra virgin coconut oil. All great anti-fungals!
  8. Drink water & herbal teas!
  9. Sleep at least 8 hours a night! And meditate, do yoga, or whatever it takes to calm your mind. Keeping your adrenals balanced is crucial in overcoming Candida. One can cause the other and on top of that… they can make each other worse!
  10. Fight your way through the die off period. It can be intense, and you may feel like you have the flu. But it means you are heading in the right direction. So don’t get discouraged when you’re doing everything you’re supposed to and yet you feel terrible. This is normal, and it won’t (shouldn’t) last forever, if it does, something else might be going on. This feeling can return though! Sometimes it takes years to get rid of a severe Candida overgrowth and you will experience periods like these every once in a while.
  11. Be patient and resilient! It may get worse before it gets better! Keep up the hard work and you will make progress.
  12. Take the time to learn what works best for you! We are all different, and understanding which foods trigger the yeast to grow is the most important tool you have in overcoming the infection.

 Don’t:

  1. Don’t consume ANY sugar. Even low glycemic fruit- especially in the early stages of trying to get the infection under control.
  2. Don’t consume grains and starchy foods (so no bread, pasta, potatoes, rice and so forth). This includes the avoidance of Carrots, Parsnips and other starchy veggies. The Paleo Diet has worked best for me.
  3. Don’t consume (lots of) Coconut Water. Though coconut is anti fungal the water contains sugars and will feed the yeast beast!
  4. Don’t drink coffee if you know it bothers you. I can tolerate coffee really well, but I know some can’t! It can worsen your symptoms.
  5. Avoid ALL foods that you are intolerant to like the plague!! Something I need to improve on ;)
  6. Don’t eat moldy nuts such as peanuts & pistachios. Also, don’t eat cashews… sorry I know they’re SOOOO GOOD!! But for me it makes my symptoms 100% worse.
  7. Don’t use vinegar except for raw unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar.
  8. Don’t skip doses of your medication or supplements.
  9. Don’t cheat on your diet. One starchy, sugary treat can set your progress 10 steps backwards. You may find that you have extreme cravings for sugar and carbs! Don’t give in! Note: This advice I don’t follow myself - I’d rather cheat my diet a little once or twice a week than going hardcore and having to pay attention to ALL that I’m eating. It might take (much) longer to get the problem under control, but I’m willing to sacrifice – so do what you think is best for you!

These lists aren’t complete, but they’re some of the most important factors in order to keep an Candida overgrowth under control and start the healing process!

♥ Much love to you and leave me a comment with any tips and advice on this subject! What did I forget to mention? What are your experiences? I’d love to know.

Bonus: Homemade Chocolate Recipe 

Ingredients:

  • 8 Tbsp extra virgin coconut oil
  • 10 Tbsp xylitol or the equivalent of 8 tbsp sugar in stevia; powder or drops 
  • 5 Tbsp cocoa powder (preferebaly raw cacao powder)
  • Optional = adding 1/2 tsp vanilla extract or coffee extract or some finely chopped fresh hot pepper to taste, finely chopped fresh mint leaves, orange, lemon or lime zest…. Experiment! :D

Additional topping ideas

  • Flaked almonds
  • Chopped walnuts
  • Coconut flakes
  1. Melt the coconut oil in a pot on low heat. Stir in the xylitol or stevia and cacao powder until it’s smooth. If you’re using a flavoring, stir that in as well.
    NOTE: don’t try to dissolve the sweetener and cacao all at once. Add one ingredient first and add the other as soon as the first ingredient is completely dissolved.
  2. Get out a silicon bonbon tray if you’ve got one. You can also use a (silicon) ice cube tray. Fill the tray with the chocolate mixture. If you’re using toppings, sprinkle them on top (or stir them through the chocolate – I’ve done that before too).
  3. Put the tray in the fridge to set, which takes 20-30 minutes depending on the temperature in your fridge. 
  4. I have NO IDEA how much this makes because it all depends on which tray you use. I got 12 ice cube sized bonbons with this recipe (and a little leftover in the bowl I didn’t mind licking clean – don’t tell me you wouldn’t do the same ;))
22 thoughts on “How to overcome Candida & a recipe for Chocolates – Anti Candida Diet PROOF!

    • Thanks Alex, you’re such a sweetheart. It’s a way of life, kinda like when you first heard you had Celiacs’ I can imagine. It’s quite difficult at first and then you learn to deal with it :) But I must say, Candida can be really nasty! I hope to heal myself and inspire others to deal with their issues in a healthy way so they can feel better too :)

  1. Apple cider vinegar has a reputation for being almost a miracle cure for acne prone skin. While it is very good for eliminating pimples and preventing acne from forming, it is that more efficient for getting rid of acne scars. Apple cider vinegar is produced by fermentation, a process that turns sugar into acetic acid. While all vinegars go through the same process of fermentation, they still keep the flavors and benefits of their ingredients. So using apple vinegar is not the same as using wine vinegar. The latter is much stronger and should not be applied to the skin..

    My personal blog site
    <,http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/

  2. Pingback: Healthified Bounty Bar Bites – Coconutty Chocolaty Goodness | EAT and get MOVING

  3. Hii :-) I found your blog and I will try recipes from your perfect blog :) I have been candida diet since last week., but i have question ..Can I eat raw chocolate during the diet or not? thank you very much

    • Hi Misha, I’m so glad to hear you like my recipes and blog! I’m also very sorry to hear about your Candida issues.. it sucks doesn’t it!? How are you coping with the diet? I find raw chocolate to be a fine addition to my diet, however that’s very personal! If you do eat raw chocolate I’d advice you to make your own chocolates with stevia or xylitol as a sweetener and extra virgin coconut oil (anti fungal!!!) as the base — I have a recipe on my blog for those chocolate bonbons :) It you’re gonna by a raw chocolate bar, try to stay way from fast digesting sugars like honey, agave and corn syrup. Good luck and check in every once in a while if you’d like :) I’d love to follow your journey to health! Take care!

  4. I’m so glad I found your blog! I’ve been on an anti-candida diet for nearly two months. I’ve been cheating some lately because I’ve been letting myself get too hungry before I prepare my meals and because I miss my old goodies. :) I tried your chocolate recipe above. I was impatient to have some chocolate, so I cooked it over kind of high heat to begin with. The xylitol never seemed to dissolve completely in the coconut oil. Is it because I used too high of heat or did I just not stir it long enough? (I think I stirred it for 5-10 minutes. I was anxious.)

    I enjoyed it anyway. I poured off the cocoa-ey oil into some almond milk (It clumped up in the cold milk and I enjoyed its chewy goodness.) and put the more solid parts on an oiled plate (I couldn’t find my silicone candy mold.) and stuck it in the refrigerator. It solidified and was grainy and crunchy. But was still tasty with some walnuts. (I wasn’t expecting the sweetness to seem so sweet to me, but I have been mostly a good girl on my diet and have never had more sugar than 2-3 chocolate chips about once a month, so I guess my tastes have thankfully changed for the better.)

    Anyway, I’d like to know how you, the expert, achieved the beautiful chocolates pictured above. (In other words, what did I do wrong?)

    Thanks for sharing!

    • Thanks for the warm comment :) I’m so glad you like my blog and you’ve found some of the info I share to be helpful. How have you found the Candida Diet working for you so far? Any specific ups and downs you’ve noticed? I’d love to hear more :)

      As for the chocolates, it depends on the brand of Xylitol and Cacao you’re using. Do you have stevia in the house? You could try to make them with Stevia if you notice your Xylitol doesn’t dissolve. It should dissolve rather quickly in the warm oil… however DON’T stir over high heat please!! Eat something before making the chocolates so you’re less anxious for them to work ;) that’s how I do it haha! If you have carob powder on hand it can help make the chocolates to become less oily and more solid. It works really well with the taste of (raw) cacao. You can use less sweetener if you use carob powder too. So to recap ;)… warm the oil slowly so it doesn’t get too hot because the cacao and Xylitol will become grainy if the temp. get’s too high! Once the oil is body temp (stick your index finger in to check) and all is liquefied THEN you pour in the cacao (and extra tbsp of carob if you’d like) and you stir and then you pour in the Xylitol or stevia and you stir well until combined completely. Temp. should never get hotter than about 40 degrees Celsius (a little above body temp.). You can also dissolve the sweetener first and then dissolve the cacao. But don’t through them in together at once :)
      Hope that helps! Let me know! If not… I’ll tinker away for another solution because these are so good! You deserve a batch of them for sure! ;)

      • I haven’t yet tried your recommendations, but I am definitely going to. Today I baked regular white bread for my husband, and I am making coconut bread for myself.

        I had been doing very well with my anti-Candida diet. This week, though, I broke down and had a bagel pizza after having cheated in small ways all week. I am now paying the price just a little, but I have renewed my commitment! :)

        I have been using the plan outlined in the e-book “Ultimate Candida Diet” by Lisa Richards. I should be taking probiotics by this point, but have delayed due to budget constraints. I am eating yogurt with live cultures and trying to add more antifungal foods to my diet in the meantime.

        I do find that I seem to have the most problems when I cheat with bread/gluten products. That really stinks for me, as I have always been in love with pastries and breads. My mother used to bake regularly and I learned from her. I even used to make a few extra dollars baking and selling my bread to friends. Now I’m relearning to bake with high protein gluten free flours.

        I look forward to continuing to browse your blogs for more ideas and learning. Thanks for all you do! :D

      • I know the feeling… If I cheat little bits and pieces here and there it’s really easy for me to neglect my diet all together and it’s just a slippery slope to bad health for me!

        I do cheat, but I try to limit my cheats to special occasions… however easier said than done! I still haven’t mastered this myself ;) after 10+ years!!

        I don’t know much about Ultimate Candida Diet book, sounds interesting though!
        Yes probiotics are very essential in the healing process, but with sauerkraut, Kefir and live culture (Greek) yogurt is a super alternative! Homemade pickles are a great option too!

        You’ll get the hang of GF baking soon! Especially with your background! I can totally understand you miss real bread and pastries though! I’ve never been able to have gluten in my diet so I don’t miss what I’ve never had… however my mum got diagnosed when she was 40, and she was like you.. a bread lover! She could eat just bread all day long, fresh from the bakery (so the good yummy bread ;) ) It’s quite a switch to GF breads and baked goods at first!

        Is you have any requests for recipes or tips, let me know :) I also do online consultations since I’m a nutritionist and specialize in allergies & Candida, so if you’d ever want to go in dept, you could always send me a message for that too!

        Take care! Much love to you

  5. I love your blog i’m on a strict candida diet and trying to find some nice snacks/desserts that i’m allowed to eat. ehm maybe i’m mixing this up when I clicked at the picture for the “Coffee break and I’m enjoying two homemade Chocolate-Raspberry BonBons made with 1 part raw Cacao and 1 part Carob powder.” got directed to this post but it doesn’t seem to be the same recipe :P so can you please write it out because they looked really delicious!

    • Hi girl, thanks for commenting! I see what you mean… it kinda is the same recipe, but with 1 part raw cacao & 1 part carob powder + added raspberries in the middle of each bonbon :) But I can see it can be confusing ;) So what you will need = 8 Tbsp extra virgin coconut oil, 8 Tbsp Xylitol or the equivalent of 6 tbsp sugar in stevia – liquid stevia dissolves best (this is a little less sweetener used than when you’d use pure cacao powder, because the carob has a mild sweet flavor too), 5 Tbsp cocoa powder (preferably raw cacao powder).

      >> Now warm the oil slowly so it doesn’t get too hot because the cacao and Xylitol will become grainy if the temp. get’s too high! Once the oil is body temp (stick your index finger in to check) and all is liquefied THEN you pour in the cacao and carob powder and you stir and then you pour in the Xylitol or stevia and you stir well until combined completely. Temp. should never get hotter than about 40 degrees Celsius (a little above body temp.). You can also dissolve the sweetener first and then dissolve the cacao. But don’t through them in together at once :) Hope that helps!

      How is the diet going for you so far? If you have any questions or recipe suggestions, let me know :) I’ve made loads of Candida friendly options over the years and I know how annoying it can be to look for options if you’re relatively new to the diet ;) Take care!

  6. Thank you so much means a lot:) i’ve been on the diet since august! Also I go to an homeopath who helps me with supplies I have to take. for some reason since i started all this i’ve got allergic reactions to eggs and some other stuff and nuts. hopefully it will go away when i’ve got rid of the Candida.

    I’m struggle with finding breakfast to eat it’s the same everday <.< and since i can't eat eggs or so. and also to find snacks or bars to eat inbetween meals

    • Hi Livia (I assume that’s your name :) )
      I’m sorry to hear ’bout those allergies. It could very well be that those allergic reactions are due to the Candida Overgrowth… Unfortunately that doesn’t always mean the reactions will go away once the Candida is under control. I don’t mean to be negative about this, but take your time and listen to your body carefully! It might take longer before your sensitivities clear-up! It took my mother (who’s dealt with Candida Overgrowth for many years) 3 times as long to get rid of her symptoms AFTER healing. I do however also know people who’ve got rid of their sensitivities before getting rid of the Candida overgrowth… so it’s all very individual :)
      I do have some recipes for snacks online, but I will add more as soon as I find the time :) I’m quite busy with work since this week. I’ve been coaching some extra clients (as a nutritionist) and most of their issues are allergy or Candida related >> it’s kinda becoming my specialty ;) However personal coaching takes A LOT of time so I’ve been neglecting my blog a little.. I will get back to blogging as soon as I find the time and I’ll definitely post more Candida Friendly recipes on here!
      If you ever feel the need to get a full food plan that’s specific for you (tips, tricks, menu, recipes, etc..) you can always send me a message. But I bet your homeopath sorts out a healthy menu for you too? ’cause nut sensitivities for example could also be due to a imbalance in essential fatty acids or mineral deficiency. If you’re interested in working on your diet together so I can coach you more specific, just let me know :) Good luck with everything! With love

  7. Just looking for insight… I am currently breastfeeding a one month old and have been fighting candida for 3 years. During that time I have had and nursed two babies, and the candida always gets worse post partum (must be hormones…) I have terrible cravings, and struggle to follow the anti candida diet because of the limited carbs and sugars while trying to keep up my milk supply. I also can’t take most supplements due to pregnancy/breastfeeding, but am still taking probiotics, alfalfa, and a multi vit.
    Just wondering if anyone has any suggestions to help me be successful even with my circumstances?

    • Hello Kara, I’d love to help you with this but to really give you suitable advice, I’d need to know more about your health and lifestyle. However a few tips I can give you from the story you’ve shared:

      Make sure to eat enough slow digesting carb sources that contain lot’s of fiber like (roasted) pumpkin and sweet potatoes — they also satisfy some of the sweet cravings is what I find.

      Be careful with regular potatoes though. Be careful with corn and soy as well. You could try millet and buckwheat as a nurturing carb source and you could try rice. I’ve found millet very suiting for my system, yet rice I’ve only been able to tolerate for a while now. Your body will tell you soon enough!

      Make raw chocolates with stevia (like this recipe) as a treat and keep homemade bread on hand. Coconut bread made with coconut flour is a great (subtle sweet and nutty) and EASY (with 3 kids… it has to be quick I guess ;-) ) Make sure your mineral intake is OK! Eat sesame seeds and broccoli for calcium or if you can tolerate dairy. Choose whole fat Greek yogurt or probiotic rich Kefir type yogurts.

      Hope this helps a little. Good luck with all and if you’d like to work with me as a coach, just let me know :) ~ with love

  8. I didn’t know fruits were bad for you with candida until my DR told me. This is the program he recommended, and it got rid of my y infection in 2 days.

    Lady Soma Advance Candida Supplement
    with Distilled watter (with added minerals)
    organic beans
    garlic
    onions
    ginger
    avacado
    olive oil

    Now that I have my diet straight, I take the lady soma candida supplement, and going to the gym every day I am yeast free!

    • I’m so happy to hear you’ve got rid of your health issues :) diet is a powerful tool we often don’t use to our advantage. I haven’t heard of this supplement yet. I’ll check it out :) Always curious to learn more! Thanks for sharing your story with us!!

  9. Thank you for this site, really good info. I have been on the diet 4 days strict! Thanks for being honest about it sucking in a comment above because it has sucked but i am keeping hopes of it getting better. On the 4th day, today I was dying for some sugar or juice or carbs so I found some dessert recipes for candida and made some delicious hand made coconut oil chocolates and lemon poppy seed bars. They came out so delicious and satisfying. Feeling a little better today still weak and tired but day one was the worst because I am also detoxing with coconut oil everyday. I have been depressed on and off, first day i was very angry which wasn’t normal, but I also try to stay positive and I appreciate you having this page available, it has really helped me not feel alone especially during this first stage.

    • Thank you for your comment and I’m glad to help a little with what you’re going through. I know the detox can be hard!! I’ve been experiencing a flare up since a few weeks… just because I didn’t stick to my diet for a while… it sucks big time! Thank God most is solvable through diet and we CAN feel happy & healthy! You’ll get better in time! Keep going strong and see a health care professional if you feel like you need to. Sometimes that can really help (other times… not so much ;-) ) Good luck girl

Leave a Reply

