Another Mother’s Day treat! Deep dish (chocolate) walnut cookie

I’m on a serious baking spree! Do you know the feeling when recipes just work out exactly as you want them to? Imagine this feeling times 4 and that’s me right now, I’m on a roll…. ;-)

This morning I was tinkering on a cookie / cake / pie recipe and I had a can of garbanzo beans lying around, so I decided to make a deep dish cookie with beans and buckwheat flakes and the end result was pretty darn good! I promised I would share my recipe if I thought it was worth sharing and I must say: I think it is ;)  I hope you like it and have fun experiencing in the kitchen!

I didn’t make a lot of batter because I wasn’t sure how this would turn out, so you can double the recipe for a thicker deep dish cookie or simply to make a double batch :D!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of unsalted garbanzo beans; 240 gram once drained. Make sure to rinse really well.
  • ½ cup of buckwheat flakes or oatmeal 
  • 2 tbsp of mashed banana or unsweetened applesauce
  • 1.5 tbsp butter or melted coconut oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp instant coffee powder or chicory root powder
  • ½ tsp orange zest
  • 1 tbsp chopped ginger
  • ¼ tsp stevia powder(= to taste!)
  • ¼ tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking power
  • pinch of salt
  • ¼ cup chopped walnuts 
  • ¼ cup chocolate chips (optional)

Place everything in a food processor and blend very well until it becomes a smooth batter. You might need to add a ½ tbsp of water like I had to in order to get it all well mixed together. Mix in the walnuts and optional chocolate chips and pour the batter into an oiled pan (I used my heart shaped silicon pie-dish filled with little over ½ inch of batter throughout – I would suggest using a pan you can fill with 1 inch of batter throughout to get more of a thick cake like cookie. So choose whatever you want!) Cook at 350F (180C) for 25 – 45 minutes depending on the thickness of the batter in your pan. I had to cook mine for 25 minutes. Once you take it out of the oven let it stand for at least 10 minutes before you take it out of the pan! Slice it up and serve :)

Note: I could slice 6 ‘good sized cookies’ from the recipe!

So tell me, what do you like most: experimenting with self made recipes or following a recipe you’ve found online or in a cookbook?

~ Enjoy the recipe and have a great start of the week ~

3 thoughts on “Another Mother’s Day treat! Deep dish (chocolate) walnut cookie

  1. I’m a bit ashamed to admit, but I actually don’t like either experimenting with self-made recipes or following recipes. What I DO like though, is having my daughter cooking most of my meals… since she’s quite good at making tasty & healthy meals!! :) :D

  2. Pingback: When do you spill the beans in a new relationship? | howtoonlinedate

Leave a Reply

